• News

100,000 Dollar Tournament in Pöllau

From 26th of June to 4th of July, the tournament will attract around 15 million viewers in front of the TV screens in Russia.

When FK Rostov faces Spartak Moscow in Pöllau on 26th of June, this will not be a normal test match, but the kick-off to a tournament with a prize money of 100.000 dollars (about 90.000 Euro). In addition to Rostov and Spartak, FK Krasnodar and ZSKA Moscow will also be competing for the title. Until the 4th of July a total of six games are on the program – the tournament will be played in championship mode, each against each other.

The preparation tournament was invented by the Russian free-TV sports channel Match TV to revive the preparation time and IFCS are doing the whole organization. “It is of course an honour for us that this tournament will be played in Styria. But it also shows the importance of the region for international football”, says IFCS Managing Director Kian Walizadeh.

“The tournament takes place in Styria because it is one of the most popular regions for season preparation among Russian Premier League clubs,” explains Oleg Polinskiy of Match TV. And he also knows why: “The climate fits, the infrastructure is perfect and the flight distance from Russia is not too large”. No wonder that seven Russian clubs are preparing for the championship in Styria. In addition to the teams competing in the tournament, Dynamo Moscow, KS Samara and FK Orenburg are also based in Styria.

The tournament’s role for Russia’s football fans is shown by its expected reach: Oleg Polinskiy expects around 15 million spectators for the matches.

• News

Vier Top-Klubs aus Russland spielen in Pöllau um 100.000 Dollar

Von 26. Jui bis 4. Juli geht in der Oststeiermark ein Turnier über die Bühne, das in Russland rund 15 Millionen Zuschauer vor die TV-Bildschirme locken wird.

Wenn am 26. Juni der FK Rostov in Pöllau auf Spartak Moskau trifft, dann ist das kein normales Testspiel, sondern der Auftakt zu einem Turnier, bei dem es um ein Preisgeld von 100.000 Dollar (umgerechnet rund 90.000 Euro) geht. Neben Rostov und Spartak mischen auch noch der FK Krasnodar und ZSKA Moskau um den Titel mit. Bis zum 4. Juli stehen insgesamt sechs Spiele auf dem Programm – gespielt wird das Turnier im Meisterschafts-Modus, jeder gegen jeden.

Erfunden wurde das Vorbereitungs-Turnier vom russischen Free-TV-Sportsender Match TV um die Vorbereitungszeit zu beleben. Die komplette Organisation übernahm IFCS. „Es ist natürlich eine Ehre für uns, dass dieses Turnier in der Steiermark gespielt wird. Zeigt aber auch den Stellenwert der Region für den internationalen Fußball“, so IFCS-Geschäftsführer Kian Walizadeh.

„Das Turnier findet in der Steiermark statt, weil das bei den russischen Premier Liga-Klubs eine der beliebtesten Regionen für die Saisonvorbereitung ist“, erklärt Oleg Polinskiy von Match TV. Und er weiß auch warum das so ist: „Das Klima passt, die Infrastruktur ist perfekt und die Flugdistanz von Russland ist nicht zu groß.“ Kein Wunder, dass gleich sieben russische Klubs ihre Vorbereitung in der Grünen Mark absolvieren. Neben den Vieren, die beim Turnier antreten, sind auch noch Dynamo Moskau, KS Samara und FK Orenburg hier im Trainingslager.

Welche Rolle das Turnier für Russlands Fußball-Fans hat, zeigt die erwartete Reichweite: Rund 15 Millionen Zuschauer erwartet Oleg Polinskiy für die Spiele.

Die Spiele
26.06., FK Rostov – Spartak Moskau, 18 Uhr
27.06., FK Krasnodar – ZSKA Moskau, 18 Uhr
30.06., FK Krasnodar – Rostov, 13 Uhr
30.06., Spartak Moskau – ZSKA Moskau, 18 Uhr
03.07., FK Rostov – ZSKA Moskau, 18 Uhr
04.07., Spartak Moskau – FK Krasnodar, 18 Uhr
jeweils in Pöllau