• News

C’è solo un Fati

In winter on the mountain. In summer at IFCS.

By chance and the national team of his home country, Fatlum Kurtaj came into contact with IFCS – and quickly became an important part of the team. This year, the native Albanian will be Head of Camp & Match Operations for the first time.

It was an adventurous escape on foot over 1.000 kilometers which Fatlum Kurtaj, short Fati, brought to Austria. At the age of 17 he left his hometown Shkodra and three months later arrived at the border crossing Spielfeld in Styria. After another four months in the Traiskirchen refugee camp, Fati began an apprenticeship as a waiter and worked in Vienna and Vorarlberg before he moved to Carinthia. Since 2006, Fati has been responsible for the “Berghex”, a panorama bar at 1,900 metres above sea level on the Nassfeld, in winter.

In summer, on the other hand, it has been around Styrian football pitches for some time now. He looks after international football clubs and national teams when they prepare for the championship or major tournaments in Styria.

It all began in 2016: “Albania was preparing for the European Championship in Austria. As a native Albanian, I contacted Kian (Walizadeh, Managing Director IFCS; note) and applied as a team manager,” he says. He got the job – and must have done it really well, at least the national team took him directly to the European Championships to France.

For IFCS Fati was a gold handle and after the European Championships in France he was several times active as a team manager. At the training camp of Watford for example or last year twice at the camps of the Austrian national team.

This year, organizational talent Fati is responsible for the operational management of all camps and is therefore the contact person for all team leaders and for hotels and sports facilities.

• News

C’è solo un Fati

Im Winter am Berg. Im Sommer bei IFCS.

Durch Zufall und das Nationalteam seines Heimatlandes kam Fatlum Kurtaj in Kontakt mit IFCS – und wurde rasch zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil des Teams. Heuer ist der gebürtige Albaner erstmals als Head of Camp & Match Operations im Einsatz.

Es war eine abenteuerliche Flucht zu Fuß über 1.000 Kilometer die Fatlum Kurtaj, kurz Fati, nach Österreich brachte. Mit 17 Jahren verließ er seine Heimatstadt Shkodra und kam drei Monate danach am Grenzübergang Spielfeld in der Steiermark an. Nach weiteren vier Monaten im Flüchtlingslager Traiskirchen begann Fati eine Kellner-Lehre, arbeitete in Wien und Vorarlberg, ehe es ihn nach Kärnten verschlug. Seit 2006 ist Fati im Winter für die „Berghex“, eine Panorama-Bar auf 1.900 Metern Seehöhe am Nassfeld, zuständig.

Im Sommer hingegen findet man ihn seit einiger Zeit meist rund um steirische Fußballplätze. Er kümmert sich um internationale Fußballklubs und Nationalmannschaften, wenn diese sich in der Steiermark auf die Meisterschaft oder auf große Turniere vorbereiten.

Alles begann 2016. „Albanien bereitete sich in Österreich auf die Europameisterschaft vor. Als gebürtiger Albaner habe ich Kian (Walizadeh, Geschäftsführer IFCS; Anm.) kontaktiert und mich als Teambetreuer beworben“, erzählt er. Den Job bekam er – und dürfte ihn auch richtig gut gemacht haben, immerhin nahm ihn das Nationalteam dann gleich direkt mit zur Europameisterschaft nach Frankreich.

Für IFCS war Fati ein Goldgriff und nach der EM in Frankreich mehrmals als Teambetreuer im Einsatz. Beim Trainingslager von Watford etwa oder zuletzt im Vorjahr zweimal bei den Camps des österreichischen Nationalteams.

In diesem Jahr ist Organisationstalent Fati für die operative Leitung aller Camps zuständig und ist damit Ansprechpartner für alle Teambetreuer und die Kontaktperson für Hotels und Sportstätten.